About the College of Fine Arts About the College of Fine Arts

About the College of Fine Arts

The College of Fine Arts is one of the oldest, largest and most prestigious colleges of the University of Tehran. When it opened over seventy years ago, it laid the foundations for academic study in various forms of art in Iran. Today, the College of Fine Arts of the University of Tehran is a unique center for the study of art in all its different disciplines, and its influence is particularly strong in Iran and the Middle East. The college started its activities in November 1939 under the name of "Honarkadeh" [Art School]. The primary focus was on the three fields of Architecture, Painting and Sculpture. Now, over seven decades after its establishment, it has a special status in the eyes of Iranians, particularly in the areas of Visual Arts, Architecture and Urban Planning.

It was in 2005 that the Faculty of Fine Arts was expanded and renamed to the College of Fine Arts consisting of the five schools of Architecture, Urban Planning, Industrial Design, Visual Arts, Performing Arts and Music, and a research institute entitled Culture and Arts. At present, the College of Fine Arts has over 110 faculty members. Numerous graduates and faculty members of the college are presently distinguished and well-known figures in the country, and in some cases, internationally. These individuals have won various prestigious awards in art festivals around the world. The College of Fine Arts is composed of the following schools:


·         School of Architecture

·         School of Urban Planning

·         School of Visual Arts